TRANSPORTATION POLICY BOARD MEETING MINUTES

Of September 17, 2021

Call to Order:

Chairperson Lina Ortega called the Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting to order at 9:04 am at the El Paso MPO Board Room, 211 N. Florence, 1st Floor, Suite 103, El Paso, TX, also conducted the meeting telephonically and by video conference. TPB Member attendance was as follows:

MEMBERS PRESENT	TITLES	MEMBERS ABSENT	TITLES
1. Lina Ortega (Chair)	TX State Representative, 77th District	Joseph Cervantes	NM Senator, District 31
2. Walter Miller (V-Chair)	Alderman 1, Town of Horizon	Esteban Olivas	Alderman, Town Clint
3. Claudia Ordaz-Perez	TX State Representative – 76th District	Raymundo Lara	NM State Representative – 34th District
4. Manuel Leos	Mayor, Village of Vinton	Benjamin Romero	Mayor, Town of Anthony, TX
Cissy Lizarraga	City Representative, District 8	Diana Trujillo	Mayor Anthony, NM
6. Ricardo Samaniego	Judge, El Paso County	Ellen Smyth	Director, Mass Transit-Sun Metro
7. Yvette Hernandez	Grant Funded Program Director, COEP	Antonio Araujo	Mayor City of San Elizario
8. Cassandra Hernandez	City Representative – District 3		
9. Tommy Gonzalez	City Manager, City of El Paso		
10. Norma Palacios	Public Works Director, County of El Paso		
11. Henry Rivera	City Representative – District 7		
12. Tomas Trevino	District Engineer, TXDOT – El Paso		
13. Iliana Holguin	El Paso County Commissioner, Precinct 3		
14. Sam Rodriguez	Director of Aviation, EP International Airport		
15. Oscar Leeser	Mayor, City of El Paso	MPO STAFF	
16. Ivy Avalos	Mayor, City of Socorro	Sergio Estrada	MPO/TPB Attorney
17. Joe Moody	TX State Representative – 78th District	Eduardo Calvo	Executive Director
18. César Blanco	TX State Senator	Harrison Plourde	Assistant Director
19. Art Fierro	TX State Representative – 79th District	Jeff Howell	Senior Planner
20. Mary E. Gonzalez	TX State Representative – 75th District	Gabriela Lopez	Transportation Financial Analyst
21. Javier Perea	Mayor, Sunland Park, NM	Marisol Enriquez	Admin. Secretary / TPB Recording Sec
22. Trent Doolittle	District Engineer, NMDOT	Claudia Valles	Transportation Planner
23. Chuck McMahon	Doña Ana County Assist. Manager of Operations	Sonia Perez	TDM Modeler
24.		Salvador Gonzalez-Ayala	Transportation Planning & Programs Mgr.
25.		George Inostroza	EPMPO Program Administrator
26.		Tim McDaniel	Associate Regional Transportation Analyst
OTHERS PRESENT		OTHERS PRESENT	
Eddie Valtier - TXDOT	David A. Coronado – COEP	Scott White – member of public	
Gregory McNicol - TPAC UT	EP Roberto Tinajero - UTEP	Veronica Carrillo – member of public	
Chris Canales	Hector Rangel – TPAC Sunland Park	Art Estrada – TXDOT	
Blanca Serrano-Rivera - TXDOT Michael Martinez		Thelma Ramirez - TXDOT	
Raymond Sanchez Jr - TXD0	OT Cassandra Urrutia – Senator Blanco	Raul Ortega	
Priscilla I. Contreras – Henry R	ivera Robert Storch – member of public		
Estrella Escobar – Mayor Leeser Angel Ulloa – member of public			

(Meeting began with 19 members)

- Chairperson, Lina Ortega opened Public Comment:
- 1. Veronica Carrillo commented.
 - Chairperson, Lina Ortega, closed Public Comment.

DISCUSSION AND ACTION:

Approve the minutes of the August 20, 2021 Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting.
 Motion to approve the minutes for the August 20, 2021 Transportation Policy Board (TPB) meeting, made by Mayor Oscar Leeser, and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

Motion to move Item 5 to be presented before item 2 made by Yvette Hernandez, and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

- 5. Congestion Management Process (CMP) Segment Performance Analysis.
 - Status report provided by UTEP Luis Garcia
- · Walter Miller commented
- Eduardo Calvo commented
- · Scott White commented
- Oscar Leeser commented
- Javier Perea commented

DISCUSSION AND ACTION TO APPROVE RECOMMENDATIONS FROM THE TRANSPORTATION PROJECT ADVISORY COMMITTEE TO:

- 2. Approve Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) Draft Financially Constrained Project List including Sunland Park Port of Entry and connecting roadways Project subject to the City of Sunland Park submitting to the El Paso MPO a formal commitment letter agreeing to fund the Port of Entry Project as well as connecting roadways.
 Motion to approve Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2050 Metropolitan Transportation Plan (MTP) Draft Financially Constrained Project List including Sunland Park Port of Entry and connecting roadways Project subject to the City of Sunland Park submitting to the El Paso MPO a formal commitment letter agreeing to fund the Port of Entry Project as well as connecting roadways made by Mayor Javier Perea, and seconded Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.
- · Cesar Blanco commented
- Walter Miller commented
- Oscar Leeser commented
- · Javier Perea commented
- Sam Rodriguez commented
- 3. Approve the September 2021 Project Readiness Report (PRR)

Motion to approve the September 2021 Project Readiness Report (PRR) made by Mayor Oscar Leeser, and seconded by Alderman Walter Miller. Motion passed unanimously.

4. Approve the amended Public Participation Plan (PPP).

Motion to approve the amended Public Participation Plan (PPP) made by Alderman Walter Miller, and seconded by Representative Cassandra Hernandez. Motion passed unanimously.

REPORTS AND DISCUSSION:

- Highway Emergency Response Operator (HERO) Program
 Status report provided by TXDOT Eduardo Adame, Eduardo Perales
- · Walter Miller commented
- Trent Doolittle commented
- Oscar Leeser commented
- Tomas Trevino commented
- Sam Rodriguez commented
- · Robert Storch commented
- Angel Ulloa commented
- 7. Regional Mobility Strategy (RMS) 2020 Project Development Status Report

Status report provided by EPMPO - Eduardo Calvo

- 8. Executive Director's Report.
 - a. August meeting of Texas Transportation Commission
 - b. Freight Advisory Committee

Status report provided by EPMPO - Eduardo Calvo

The **next meeting** of the TPB is scheduled for <u>9:00 a.m.</u> on <u>October 22, 2021</u> at the El Paso MPO Office located at 211 N. Florence Street, Suite 103 (MPO Boardroom on 1st Floor), El Paso, TX 79901.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

The Transportation Policy Board may retire into **EXECUTIVE SESSION** pursuant to the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the following: (The items listed below are matters of the sort routinely discussed in Executive Session, but the Transportation Policy Board may move to Executive Session any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act.) The Transportation Policy Board will return to open session to take any final action and may also, at any time during the meeting, bring forward any of the following items for public discussion, as appropriate.

The TPB did not retire into Executive Session.

9. Adjournment.

Motion to adjourn at 10:51 a.m. made by Mayor Oscar Leeser, seconded by Senator Cesar Blanco. Motion carried unanimously.

*These projects met the seven-day public comment requirement of the El Paso MPO's Public Participation Plan.

Approved as to content:

Marisol Enriquez, Recording Secretary of the

Transportation Policy Board for the El Paso MPO Study Area